One of the last riverboat-era hotels, the Lafayette opened on July 1, 1918, and was named in honor of the Marquis de Lafayette, who visited the city in 1825 at a site near the hotel. He has since been regarded as Marietta’s first tourist.
With its distinctive triangular shape, the hotel offers guest rooms with views of either the Ohio or Muskingum Rivers, whose legendary flooding a half-century ago is indicated on benchmarks in the lobby.
The dining room features a fine collection of long rifles, including one made by J. J. Henry that accompanied the Benedict Arnold expedition to Quebec in 1775. An 11-foot pilot wheel from the steamboat J. D. Ayres is featured in the lobby.
The Lafayette hotel overlooks the Ohio and Muskingum Rivers and is in the heart of historic downtown Marietta. We have 77 unique guest rooms. We are ADA accessible and kids under 18 stay free in the parents’ room. Other features include room service, laundry and free airport shuttle service.